California Agricultural Teachers' Association

Mark Your Calendar

August 4 - Executive Committee Meeting, Galt

September 23-24 - Southern Region Meeting, Palm Springs

September 24 - North Coast Region Meeting, Fort Bragg

October 9 - South Coast Region Meeting, Hollister

Oct 19-22 - National FFA Convention,Indianapolis, IN

November 4-5 - Superior Region Meeting, Petaluma

November 5 - Cotton State Finals, CSU, Fresno

November 16-17 - New Professionals Conference, Fresno

November 18-19 - San Joaquin Region Meeting, Tenaya Lodge

November 19 - Central Region Meeting, Lake Tahoe

November 30 - December 3 - NAAE Conference, Las Vegas, NV

December 1-3 - Community College Midwinter Institute, Santa Rosa

December 7-9 - Advanced Leadership Institute

January 5-6 - Student Teacher Conclave, Modesto

January 12-13 – Winter Governing Board, Galt

January 21 – Natural Resources State Finals, Reedley College

January 30-31 - Mentoring Conference

February 4 – Winter State Finals - Citrus, Tree and Vine Pruning, CSU-Fresno

February 25 - Central Region Meeting, Modesto JC

February 25 - San Joaquin Region Meeting, Tulare

February 27 - South Coast Region, TBD

March 11 - Superior Region Meeting, Chico

March 25- North Coast Region Meeting, Humboldt

April 8 - Southern Region Meeting, Pomona

April 22 - CSU-Fresno Field Day, CSU-Fresno

April 22-25 - State FFA Leadership Conference, Fresno

April 25-28 - NAAE Region 1 Meeting, Sheridan, Wyoming

May 6 - State FFA Judging Finals, Cal Poly, SLO

June 25 - Executive Committee Meeting, Cal Poly, SLO

June 25 - Pre-Conference Governing Board, Cal Poly, SLO

June 25-29 - CATA Summer Conference, Cal Poly, SLO

June 29 - Governing Board Summer Retreat, San Luis Obispo

CATA Hall of Fame

For 84 years the California Agricultural Teachers’ Association has been dedicated to the service of vocational agriculture, agriculture education, and the FFA members of this great state. In 2000, an idea was born that would result in the recognition of those who have excelled in such service. Ken Harris, past CATA Executive Director and current San Joaquin Regional Supervisor, was the driving force in organizing the efforts resulting in what we now call the CATA Hall of Fame.

The CATA is responsible for overseeing the selection and presentation of the Hall of Fame members. The policies and rules concerning the Hall of Fame can be found in the CATA Leadership Handbook. Inductees are nominated by their peers then selected by a committee comprised of past CATA presidents as well as special invitees.

CATA Hall of Fame - Class of 2002
Dale Andrews Karl Bakken Jerry Biggs
H.H. Burlingham Howard Chappel George Couper
Dick Crabill Lionel Cross Jerry Davis
Howard Dickson Lloyd Dowler Kenneth Easter
Ed Fisher J. Cordner Gibson Arthur Godfrey
Dave Graf Ted Gregg Richard Havens
Don Hendricks Stan Hodges Kenneth Holmes
Gilbert Hutchings Wes Jamison Bruce Jensen
Elwood M. Juergenson Emile LaSalle Edward F. Leal
Les McCabe Chester McCorkle Byron McMahon
Dean McNeilly Julian McPhee Dixie Mitchell
Dick Mossbarger W.L. "Pappy" Norton Jay Palmer
Harold Peck Alfred "Sam" Rutherford C. Paul Stark
Chris Starr Sidney Sutherland Ernest Tarone
Leo Thibault Lionel Tocher J. Everett Walker
Roland Wentzel Don Wilson Harold Wilson
Gordon Woods Marty Jack Warren Reed

CATA Hall of Fame - Class of 2003
Hal Carlton Jack Chappell John DeJong
Orville Thompson Gordon Tibbs Robert Actis
Richard Rogers

CATA Hall of Fame - Class of 2004
James Dyer James King Kermit Kliewer
Harry Maddux Joe Sabol

CATA Hall of Fame - Class of 2005
Richard Boucher Leonard DeRuiter Larry Crabtree

CATA Hall of Fame - Class of 2006
James Bailey Keith Smith

CATA Hall of Fame - Class of 2007
Alfred DeRose, Jr. Bill King

CATA Hall of Fame - Class of 2008
Sanford Beck Lloyd Hokit Ronald Hutchings
Westley Patton William Rienstra

CATA Hall of Fame - Class of 2009
Lloyd Doster Gino Farinelli Ralph Loya
Clayton Oilar Larry Rathbun

CATA Hall of Fame - Class of 2010
Abdul Mohamed Stanley Rose

CATA Hall of Fame - Class of 2011
Richard Nimphius Bud West

CATA Hall of Fame - Class of 2012
Warren Weaver

CATA Hall of Fame - Class of 2013
Glen Casey Bill Loveridge

CATA Hall of Fame - Class of 2014
Del Petersen  

CATA Hall of Fame - Class of 2015

Ken Harris  

CATA Hall of Fame - Class of 2016

Ron Alves Del Clement Jim Porter
Anthony Silva Stan Uchiyama Gerald Wenstrand